Hollyoaks Wins Best Soap at the Royal Television Society Awards

Hollyoaks was victorious in winning the award for ‘Soap and Continuing Drama’ at the Royal Television Society Awards last night in London.

RTS said judges were “blown away” by its “terrific central performances”

Hollyoaks was up against Casualty and Coronation Street in the same category.  Talking to Royal Television Society, Executive producer Bryan Kirkwood said “we tell the boldest stories that are happening to our audience right now”.

A specific storyline which was highlighted at the RTS awards was the football abuse storyline, in which Ollie Morgan (Aedan Duckworth) was abused by his football coach Buster Smith (Nathan Sussex).  

Regarding the storyline, Bryan Kirkwood also told the Royal Television Society that "I think the footballer abuse story has been one of our best ever."      

Cast in attendance included Aedan Duckworth, Rachel Adedeji, Sarah Jayne Dunn, Lysette Anthony, Kieron Richardson and Ijaz Rana.




Hollyoaks is on Channel 4 every week day at 6:30pm and on First Look E4 at 7pm